Knitter on the go

Deciding on projects

Just returned from The Knitting and Stitching show at Alexandra Palace.  The Manos sock yarn, a baby dress designed by me, and my latest Poncho creation were best sellers. Very positive vibes from previous buyers gave me a feel good factor.

After a huge clear up and sort out I am ready to begin work on my next book which will be on Fair Isle knitting. I’m starting with a cushion cover made with Scottish yarn which I bought from New Lanark Mills on my way up to visit my son on the west coast of Scotland. Tip: When changing colours twist your yarns every 2-3 sts to avoid large loops at the back of your work.

Deciding on colours I went for a vintage feel but the pattern would work well with bright modern colours.

img_0730

Now having nearly finished the pieces I’m thinking about buttons-they can really change the look of your project. I went to my button box and found these retro ones that I bought last year and am thrilled they fit perfectly.

img_0731

Next job blocking the pieces so they are the right size-that’s for tomorrow.

Author: theknitknacks2014

I am a knitwear designer living in East Sussex. My patterns regularly feature in Simply Knitting and 1 have designed patterns for six books . My patterns and kits are available from www.theknitknacks.co.uk and you can find me on the Love Knitting website and Ravelry.

Leave a Reply

