Autumn Colours

Inspiration Through Colour

Just walked around Scotney Castle and felt very inspired by the changes of colour. It’s time to get the autumn yarns out and start designing and knitting a dress for my book. This will be a long project alongside other ones I have on the go.

Hmm! I think I will start with a mock cable rib, no cable needle required.

Why not use this rib instead of a traditional 2 x 2

Mock rib pattern (Multiples of 4 + 2)

Row 1 (Foundation Row)(RS): P2, * K2, P2, rep from * to end

Row 2 (WS): K2, *P1, YRN, P1, K2, rep from * to end

Row 3: P2, *K3, P2, rep from * to end

Row 4: K2, * P3, K2, rep from * to end

Row 5: P2, * K3, then pass the first of these sts over the last 2 sts and drop it, P2, rep from * to end.

Repeat rows 2 -5 until required length.

ABBREVIATIONS

YRN: Yarn around needle (this makes one extra stitch)

Back to knitting now, let me know how you get on.

 

 

 

 

Author: theknitknacks2014

I am a knitwear designer living in East Sussex. My patterns regularly feature in Simply Knitting and 1 have designed patterns for six books . My patterns and kits are available from www.theknitknacks.co.uk and you can find me on the Love Knitting website and Ravelry.

Leave a Reply

